Honorable Mention 1: Jamaican Jerk Rub.

I absolutely love hot sauce. As a small and stubborn child, my parents tried weaning me from my baby bottle by adding Tabasco sauce to my milk. [Not enough to count for abuse, I don’t think.]

Contrary to the intended effect, I drained my bottle and demanded more. Thus, incurring a particular vice (hot sauce fanaticism) that I probably will not shake until I’m buried six feet under after deliberately registering off the Scoville scale.

With that in mind, I’m going to share with you a Caribbean recipe that I came across, one in a list of honorable mentions listed to kickstart your appetite for the destruction of your taste buds.

Jamaican Jerk Rub

Ingredients:

2 limes, juice only
2 tablespoon of dried basil
2 tablespoon of dried thyme
3 scallions, finely chopped
2 tablespoon of orange juice
2 tablespoon of white vinegar
2 tablespoon of mustard seeds
2 tablespoon of dried rosemary
2 tablespoon of chopped parsley
1/4 cup of cheap yellow mustard
1 teaspoon each salt and black pepper
1/4 cup inner beauty or other caribbean
10 pureed Habaneros or 15
Chile peppers, pureed

Instructions:

1. First, in food processor or a blender, combine all ingredients, blend them in a paste making sure all the ingredients are fully integrated.

Note: The paste should be the consistency of a thick tomato sauce. If it’s too thick, thin it out with a little more white vinegar.

2. Next cover the paste and let it sit into the refrigerator for at least 2 hours for the flavors to blend together. Overnight is the right amount of time to give the paste time to really blend together for a fuller and tasty flavor.

Note: If you want to avoid making fresh batch everytime you make this dish, you can multiply
the amount of paste easily.

3. Finally, rub paste on the meat and grill.

The yield for this recipe is 1 batch.

Jamaican Jerk dishes

Jamaican Jerk Rub dishes courtesy of Barbara Fisher.

Leave a Reply

