Countdown.

I think Examiner writer, Debbra Brouillette, said it best, “While Halloween is now the United States’ second most popular holiday (after Christmas)…its celebration is almost non-existent in the Caribbean region.”

Yesterday, I didn’t see one display of Halloween décor while I walked the crowded streets of Kingstown.

We did have a show in Victoria Park where Queen Ifrit and other musicians were scheduled to perform ( I believe that was her name). Promoters were passing out free concert tickets in full-on Rasta-hair and knit hats.  My memory is a little bit hazy at the moment; stayed up past 2 a.m. and couldn’t sleep. The bay is like a huge amphitheater – you won’t and cannot escape the music unless you travel north and over the hills to the other side of the island.

Regarding Caribbean coconut crackers, I can munch on those goodies any day, every day. JirahMae protested my vocal indulgence, a mistake on my part, by declaring the crackers were hers. I never saw those snacks again.

Doesn’t bother me. My late-night munching makes up for that.

Did I mention I’ve gained 15 lbs since I’ve been here? In less than two weeks. I’m on a mission!

Stateside in three.

2 thoughts on “Countdown.

  1. Anthony,
    Thanks for the mention and linking back to my article.

    I did a Windjammer cruise several years ago and spent time on St. Vincent at its big waterfall, then got to explore and dive around Bequia, Tobago Cays, and several other of the Grenadines. It’s a beautiful area of the Caribbean. Enjoy the rest of your time there! Wish I could be there, too…

    • This area certainly is beautiful. A Windjammer cruise sounds awesome! I hope to come back in July in time for the big festival they’re having. You’re welcome on the the link-back and I look forward to reading more of your articles!

      – Anthony

Leave a Reply

